Gratitude

Having been sick for nearly 10 days and barely able to sing for 5 of those, I decided to write about gratitude.

I am grateful that I can phonate again, even if I don’t have my usual energy to sing for as long as I’d like.

I am grateful to be in a place where I can sing and teach singing – sharing something I love and nurturing that same spark in others.

Gratitude-2-500x312

I am grateful for the joyful reaction of my students when they find new pathways and resonance in their singing.

I am grateful that so much music is available to share between people, in so many different forms.

I am grateful so many musical outlets exist for all types of people.Music in any form is a joy to be shared with yourself, and with others.

I am grateful for music for the fun of it. I am grateful for performing music.

I am grateful to have all of my senses with which to enjoy music.

I am grateful for the variety of music.

I live in a small city where there is an embarrassment of performing arts riches – straight theatre, musical theatre, operetta, improv groups, opera, a Conservatory of Music and a flourishing university music department. There is a well-respected jazz bar, several smaller music schools, and venues for rock and roll bands getting their start. There is a big Fringe festival here in the summer, and a unique solo performing arts festival called UNO. There is a fairly new, medium sized arena where a number of big-time musical acts come to perform. There is a very active Early Music Society. There are choirs to suit every need, performing everything from a capella memorized repertoire, to numerous well attended church choirs, to advanced choirs performing with the Victoria Symphony. For all of this I am thankful.

Have you ever just stepped back and looked at your singing life from a distance? Maybe you’re contemplating singing but haven’t yet taken the plunge into lessons, a choir, or another outlet. The sooner you start, the more grateful you will feel for having taken that step.

And finally, I am grateful to you, dear reader, for reading and sharing these words.

I hope they inspire you to make a record in some way of the things for which you are grateful. Each evening before I sleep, I write down three gratitudes. It’s a nice way reflect on my day and no matter how difficult my day was, I always find three things for which to be grateful.

I would love to hear from you and what you are grateful for. Feel free to leave your comments below.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude

  1. Stan Cosburn

    HOW COME YOUR BLOG’S JUST KEEP GETTING BETTER AND BETTER , DUNCAN JUST BLASTED ME FOR MAKING STUPID TUNES THAT ARE JUST TERRIBLE . SO DID THE WIFE ALL IN ONE NIGHT . SO I AM HAVING A GREAT DAY .

    Date: Thu, 5 Dec 2013 14:50:02 +0000 To: gretchmorgan@hotmail.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

